Skip Navigation
memberhead
Welcome to the Teachers Retirement Association
Home | MyTRA Login | Contact Us | Search | Facebook badge
 

Counseling Services

To make an appointment, log into your MyTRA account or call 1-800-657-3669 (press “1” to connect with our appointment desk). Specify the office where you would like your appointment.

Scheduling online through your MyTRA account is easy and may be more convenient for you. Watch this video to learn how.

 

If you have already made an appointment, review the Counseling Appointment Checklist prior to your session. A paper copy of this checklist and a map is included with the confirmation letter TRA sends to the address we have on file two weeks prior to your appointment.

Counseling options include:

 

Individual Counseling —-- Road trips

Individual counseling means you meet one-on-one with a TRA counselor. The counselor can help you submit your retirement application, explain the retirement process, and discuss your pension options.

The counselor can also explain the effects divorce, job change, leaves of absence, and other life changes have on your pension.

All sessions are by appointment. This enables the counselor to review your account and prepare material specific to your situation, such as,

To make an appointment, log into your MyTRA account or call 1-800-657-3669 (press “1” to connect with our appointment desk).

City Date
Alexandria Fri, Dec 1, 2017
  Mon, Mar 05, 2018
Austin Tues, Dec 5, 2017
  Wed, Feb 07, 2018
Bemidji Thurs, Dec 7, 2017
Brainerd Fri, Nov 03, 2017
  Thurs, Mar 29, 2018
East Grand Forks Thurs, Feb 15, 2018
Ely Thurs, Feb 15, 2018
  Fri, Feb 16, 2018
Fergus Falls Thurs, Jan 25, 2018
Grand Rapids Thurs, Nov 16, 2017
  Fri, Nov 17, 2017
  Wed, Mar 28, 2018
  Thurs, Mar 29, 2018
Hibbing Wed, Nov 08, 2017
  Thurs, Mar 15, 2018
Hutchinson Tues, Mar 27, 2018
International Falls Thurs, Apr 05, 2018
Marshall Wed, Mar 07, 2018
Pine City Mon, Mar 05, 2018
Rochester Wed, Nov 15, 2017    FILLED
  Wed, Dec 13, 2017
  Wed, Jan 17, 2018
  Wed, Feb 14, 2018
  Wed, Mar 14, 2018
  Wed, Apr 11, 2018
Rockford Tues, Nov 21, 2017
Thief River Falls Thurs, Mar 29, 2018
Virginia Thurs, Nov 09, 2017 FILLED
  Wed, Feb 28, 2018
Willmar Mon, Jan 22, 2018
  Mon, Apr 02, 2018
White Bear Lake Wed, Nov 29, 2018    FILLED
Winona Wed, Jan 03, 2018
  Wed, Feb 28, 2018
Worthington Wed, Mar 28, 2018

 

Planning for Retirement Group Workshops

To make an appointment, log into your MyTRA account or call 1-800-657-3669 (press “1” to connect with our appointment desk).

Our Preparing for Retirement workshop is tailored to those members within 10 years of retirement.

At this 3-hour workshop, you will be given a personalized, detailed estimate of your projected monthly retirement benefit, an explanation of how your benefit is calculated and details on each of the six available annuity plan options.

Other topics covered include:

City Day & Date
St. Paul Thurs, October 19 (1:30-2:30 pm)

 

Individual Counseling — TRA Offices

Individual counseling means you meet one-on-one with a TRA counselor. The counselor can help you submit your retirement application, explain the retirement process, and discuss your pension options.

The counselor can also explain the effects divorce, job change, leaves of absence, and other life changes have on your pension.

All sessions are by appointment. This enables the counselor to review your account and prepare material specific to your situation, such as,

To make an appointment, log into your MyTRA account or call 1-800-657-3669 (press “1” to connect with our appointment desk).

Specify the office (St. Paul, Duluth, Detroit Lakes, Mankato, and St. Cloud) where you would like your appointment.

Review the Counseling Appointment Checklist prior to your session and note any questions you may have. A paper copy of this checklist and a map is included with the confirmation letter TRA sends to the address we have on file two weeks prior to your appointment.

ROAD CONSTRUCTION ALERT! The 35E Pennsylvania exit is closed permanently. This affects arriving to our St. Paul office from 35E or eastbound I94.

Refer to this map to see if your route to the St. Paul TRA office is affected.

 

Webinars

Planning for Retirement -- essentially the same as the group workshop, this webinar is geared towards members of the Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association who are nearing retirement (typically, over age 50).

Get answers to the questions you have about your pension and the decisions you will have to make from the comfort of your home or office.

Learn about

Webinars are scheduled for

Click here to register.

 


For Your Security:

As part of our ongoing security initiative, members will be required to present photo identification when visiting a TRA office, including satellite offices, as well as any other individual counseling and group workshop locations. Acceptable forms of ID include a state driver’s license, state employee badge, school district ID, passport, state non-driver ID or company-issued badge with photo. As long as the photo ID presented matches the member’s identity, it need not be current, such as an expired driver’s license.

If accommodations for a meeting are needed, under the Americans with Disabilities Act, please call 800.657.3669 as far in advance as possible.

footer
Home | Contact Us | Search | Disclaimer | Minnesota.gov Portal
Available in alternative formats by calling 651.296.2409
©1998-2017 All Rights Reserved.