TRA members elect four to the Board of Trustees

The TRA Board of Trustees has three new active member board representatives after voters selected Julie Reno, Wendy Drugge Wuensch and Kevin Lindstrom in the 2021 board election. Retired TRA members re-elected Martha Lee Zins to fill the retiree seat on the board.

Reno is a math teacher in the Moorhead Area School District, Wuensch is a math teacher at Burnsville High School, and Lindstrom is a counselor at Anoka Technical College.

Turnout among active TRA members was 5.18 percent; turnout among retirees was 28.34 percent. The TRA board certified the results of the election on May 26. Terms of the elected members will begin on July 1, 2021.

TRA is managed by a board of eight trustees: five elected trustees (four active, one retired) and three statutory members representing the Minnesota School Boards Association, the Commissioner of Education and the Commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget.

Thank you to everyone who voted.

Race Candidate/Choice Votes
Active Member Representative-Four-year term Julie Reno selected as representative 2,265
Kevin Lindstrom selected as representative 2,232
Yohannes Agegnehu 1,896
Total Write-ins 22
Active Member Representative-Two-year term Wendy Drugge Wuensch selected as representative 1,734
Mark Hagemeyer 1,108
Noel Raph 946
Total Write-ins 5
Retired Member Representative Martha Lee Zins selected as representative 13,248
Joel Larsen 5,239
Total Write-ins 26