COUNSELING SERVICES

Choices, choices

You can attend a group workshop or webinar and learn from other members’ questions. Or, we will meet with you individually in one of our offices or during our road trips. Either way, you receive a personalized estimate of your retirement benefit.

 

One-on-one counseling

You can take advantage of individual counseling anytime at one of five TRA offices—St. Paul, St. Cloud, Duluth, Mankato and Detroit Lakes—or set up an appointment when we’re in a town near you during our road trips. During your 45-minute session, the counselor can help you submit a retirement application, explain the retirement process, and discuss your options. The counselor can also explain the effects divorce, job change, leaves of absence, and other life changes have on your pension. Feel free to bring your spouse or your financial adviser.

  • You must make an appointment—log into your MyTRA account or call. 
  • Specify which office you wish to visit (Detroit Lakes, Duluth, Mankato, St. Cloud, or St. Paul).
  • If you already have an appointment, review the Counseling Appointment Checklist prior to your session. A paper copy of this checklist and a map is included with the confirmation letter TRA sends to the address we have on file for you.
  • You can also view our videos on nearing retirement to help you make decisions on annuity plans, acceleration and beneficiaries.

 

Fall/winter counseling road trips

TRA staff will be at a city near you in the coming months to provide one-on-one retirement counseling. Log in to your MyTRA account or call to register. (Dates and locations subject to change.)

Alexandria 
Tues., Feb. 19, 2019

Austin
Mon., March 4, 2019

Bemidji
Wed., March 27, 2019

Brainerd
Fri., March 8, 2019

East Grand Forks
Wed., Feb. 13, 2019

Ely
Mon., March 18, 2019

Fergus Falls
Wed., Jan. 30, 2019

Grand Rapids
Thurs., Jan. 17, 2019
Fri., Jan. 18, 2019
Mon., April 22, 2019
Tues., April 23, 2019

Hutchinson
Tues., Feb. 19, 2019

International Falls
Thurs., April 18, 2019
Fri., April 19, 2019

Marshall
Thurs., Jan. 24, 2019
Thurs., Feb. 21, 2019

McGregor
Fri., Feb. 15, 2019

Mora
Mon., March 11, 2019
Tues., March 12, 2019

Owatonna
Thurs., Jan. 31, 2019

Rochester
Tues., March 12, 2019
Tues., April 9, 2019

Rockford
Tues., Jan. 22, 2019

Thief River Falls
Wed., March 13, 2019

Virginia
Thurs., Feb. 7, 2019
Mon., March 25, 2019

Willmar
Feb. 15, 2019

Worthington
Thurs., Jan. 10, 2019
Thurs., March 7, 2019

Construction alert

Before leaving for your appointment (especially in St. Paul), check the Minnesota Department of Transportation website for the latest on construction.

FOR YOUR SECURITY

Members are required to present photo identification when visiting a TRA office or attending any individual counseling or group workshop session. Acceptable forms of ID include a state driver’s license, state employee badge, school district ID, passport, state non-driver ID or company-issued badge with photo. If accommodations are needed under the Americans with Disabilities Act, please call as far in advance as possible.

Webinars

There are no webinars scheduled at this time.

Webinars are live, interactive online sessions in which you have an opportunity to ask questions. The “Planning for Retirement” webinar is the same as TRA’s group workshop presentation. When you register, you will download a small file to your computer and follow the prompts. The presentation is geared toward TRA members who are nearing retirement (typically over age 50). Get answers to your questions about your pension and the decisions you will have to make. Learn about:

Group counseling workshops

Summer sessions begin in June 2019.

Every summer our counselors take to the road for Planning for Retirement group counseling sessions.  Attendance is limited to 20-25 members.

Tailored for those within 10 years of retirement, these three-hour workshops provide you with a personalized, detailed estimate of your projected monthly retirement benefit, an explanation of how your benefit is calculated and details on the six annuity plan options. Other topics covered include retirement eligibility, the application process, required forms, an explanation of pension acceleration, how to set up direct deposit, and taxes.

Register for a MyTRA account!

Access your personal information, run benefit estimates, make appointments, and more.

If you are an employer contact and do not yet have an employer login, call TRA employer assistance 1-800-657-3853.

Already registered? Click the sign-in button below.

Sign in to MyTRA
Register a new account