Board Members

Joel Stencel, President

Photo of Joel Stencel

Statutory Member, Minnesota School Boards Association Representative (MSBA), jstencel@minnesotatra.org
Start date: June 20, 2018

David Rondestvedt, Vice President

Elected Trustee (Active Representative), drondestvedt@minnesotatra.org

David Rondestvedt is a special education teacher at Robbinsdale Area Schools. As a board member, he wants to ensure Minnesota keeps and maintains a strong public school system that is attractive to younger teachers and those thinking about teaching as a profession.

Start date: July 1, 2023 Term Expires: June 30, 2027

Erin Campbell, Commissioner

Photo of Erin Campbell

Statutory Member, Minnesota Management & Budget

Thomas Carr

Thomas Carr

Statutory Member, Minnesota Management & Budget designee, thomas.carr@state.mn.us
Start date: January 19, 2023

Willie Jett, Commissioner

Willie Jett

Statutory Member, Department of Education

Patty Hand

Photo of Patty Hand

Statutory Member, Department of Education designee, patty.hand@state.mn.us

Start date: September 13, 2023

Julie Reno

Elected Trustee (Active Representative), jreno@minnesotatra.org

Julie Reno is a math teacher in the Moorhead school district who brings to the board a good understanding of how retirement accounts work. In her role as a board member, she hopes to help keep TRA financially sustainable as well as help deepen understanding among teachers about how TRA works.

Start date: July 1, 2021 Term Expires: June 30, 2025

Kevin Lindstrom

Elected Trustee (Active Representative), klindstrom@minnesotatra.org

Kevin Lindstrom is a counselor at Anoka Technical College. As a board member, he wants to focus on communicating a shared vision regarding the value of a robust defined benefit plan. He also hopes to work toward building a strong and broad coalition in support of enhancing the benefits of the TRA plan.

Start date: July 1, 2021 Term Expires: June 30, 2025

 

Kathy Oellerich

Elected Trustee (Active representative), koellerich@minnesotatra.org

Kathy Oellerich is a science teacher at South Washington County School District. As a board member, she wants to represent the views of working teachers and ensure a pension plan that allows dignified retirement from the profession.

Start date: July 1, 2023 Term Expires: June 30, 2027

Mary Broderick

Elected Trustee (Appointed Retiree Representative), mbroderick@minnesotatra.org

Mary Broderick retired in 2018 after 41 years as both a special education teacher at Saint Cloud School District and president of the Saint Cloud Education Association. Mary also served on the TRA Board of Trustees as an Active Representative from 2007 to 2019. She hopes to use her knowledge, experience, insight and passion to continue to protect and improve TRA pensions for active and retiree members alike.

Start date: Jan. 2, 2024 Term Expires: June 30, 2025